Skip to main content

Janitors of the Post-Apocalypse | Terminal Alliance by Jim C. Hines #BookReview

Title: Terminal Alliance
By: Jim C. Hines
Genre: Sci-fi
Pages: 352
Release Date: November 7th, 2017
Publisher: DAW

Summary from Goodreads: In his hilarious new sci-fi series, Jim C. Hines introduces the unlikely heroes that may just save the galaxy: a crew of space janitors.

The Krakau came to Earth to invite humanity into a growing alliance of sentient species. However, they happened to arrive after a mutated plague wiped out half the planet, turned the rest into shambling, near-unstoppable animals, and basically destroyed human civilization. You know—your standard apocalypse.

The Krakau’s first impulse was to turn around and go home. (After all, it’s hard to have diplomatic relations with mindless savages who eat your diplomats.) Their second impulse was to try to fix us. Now, a century later, human beings might not be what they once were, but at least they’re no longer trying to eat everyone. Mostly.

Marion “Mops” Adamopoulos is surprisingly bright (for a human). As a Lieutenant on the Earth Mercenary Corps Ship Pufferfish, she’s in charge of the Shipboard Hygiene and Sanitation team. When a bioweapon attack wipes out the Krakau command crew and reverts the rest of the humans to their feral state, only Mops and her team are left with their minds intact.

Escaping the attacking aliens—not to mention her shambling crewmates—is only the beginning. Sure, Mops and her team of space janitors and plumbers can clean the ship as well as anyone, but flying the damn thing is another matter.

As they struggle to keep the Pufferfish functioning and find a cure for their crew, they stumble onto a conspiracy that could threaten the entire alliance… a conspiracy born from the truth of what happened on

Earth all those years ago.

Jim C. Hines has proven himself a master of humorous fantasy with his Jig the Goblin novels, and has turned the usual fantasy tropes sideways and upside down with his Princess and his Magic Ex Libris series. With Terminal Alliance, the debut novel in his humorous military science fiction series, Jim takes us into a brand-new universe of entertainment certain to appeal to fans of both Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett.
 


Review: What a crazy trip. This was a funny read with lots of sci-fi elements and aliens. I was a little bogged down in the middle with space jargon, but it didn't take away from the story too much. I would love to read the next one.


Received an advance reader copy in exchange for a fair review.



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Fight Continues | Theater of Spies by S.M. Stirling

Title: Theater of Spies By: S.M. Stirling Genre: Historical Thriller Pages: 400 Release Date: May 7th, 2019 Publisher: Ace
Summary from Goodreads: The second novel in an alternate history series where Teddy Roosevelt is president once more right before WWI breaks out, and on his side is the Black Chamber, a secret spy network watching America's back.
After foiling a German plot to devastate America's coastal cities from Boston to Galveston, crack Black Chamber agent Luz O'Malley and budding technical genius Ciara Whelan go to California to recuperate. But their well-deserved rest is cut short by the discovery of a diabolical new weapon that could give the German Imperial Navy command of the North Sea. 

Luz and Ciara must go deep undercover and travel across a world at war, and live under false identities in Berlin itself to ferret out the project's secrets. Close on their trail is the dangerous German agent codenamed Imperial Sword, who is determined to get his revenge, and a …

The Girl With All the Gifts | Movie Review

Title: The Girl with all the Gifts
Genre: Dystopian

Release Date: January 26th, 2017 Rating: 6.7/10 IMDB Cast: Sennia Nanua, Gemma Arterton
Summary from IMDB: A scientist and a teacher living in a dystopian future embark on a journey of survival with a special young girl named Melanie.
IMDB Trailer
Review: If this isn't fantastic or what? I loved the book and I'm always a little leary about watching the movie after I loved the book, but this one was worth the watch. 
I loved the dystopian zombie world. A bacteria has taken over the minds of those who are infected and they crave human flesh, but the children born with this disease arm mostly alive. They can learn and love, just like any normal child. The only difference is, they still crave flesh.
There are so many twists and turns in the story. It kept me on the edge of my seat. It wasn't really scary like a lot of zombie movies so if you are not a big fan of horror I think you would be safe with the semi freaky movie.
5 out of 5…

What I'm Reading This Week | #WeeklyMenu Week #255

Its Monday again. Always Monday. We go through the week and them come back to Monday. They day that I have to myself, or wished I had to myself. Really I share it with everyone. Never time to myself. Never a quiet moment away from people. It makes it hard, since I need my quiet time to rewind and reset for the week. I don't get that. All I get is angry. How am I supposed to feel better if I can't have my quiet time?

On the other side of things, I finally sat down to write. It was a nice day. The sun was shining, there was a cool breeze and an open pick-nick table on my lunch break. Perfect weather for a mid day writing session. Got a lot done on my new manuscript. I'm hoping this one will land me an agent, but we shall see.

Guess what I' reading this week? Ok, you probably already know because of the picture. Exit West. It serves two purposes for me. Its on my shortest books I wanted to read list and also takes care of one of my bingo spots, a book about today's is…