Thursday, May 25, 2017

#BookReview | Assassin's Fate by Robin Hobb

Title: Assassin's Fate
By: Robin Hobb
Genre: Epic Fantasy 
Pages: 847
Release Date: May 9th, 2017
Publisher: Del Rey
Audience: Adult

Summary from Goodreads: More than twenty years ago, the first epic fantasy novel featuring FitzChivalry Farseer and his mysterious, often maddening friend the Fool struck like a bolt of brilliant lightning. Now New York Times bestselling author Robin Hobb brings to a momentous close the third trilogy featuring these beloved characters in a novel of unsurpassed artistry that is sure to endure as one of the great masterworks of the genre.

Fitz’s young daughter, Bee, has been kidnapped by the Servants, a secret society whose members not only dream of possible futures but use their prophecies to add to their wealth and influence. Bee plays a crucial part in these dreams—but just what part remains uncertain.

As Bee is dragged by her sadistic captors across half the world, Fitz and the Fool, believing her dead, embark on a mission of revenge that will take them to the distant island where the Servants reside—a place the Fool once called home and later called prison. It was a hell the Fool escaped, maimed and blinded, swearing never to return.

For all his injuries, however, the Fool is not as helpless as he seems. He is a dreamer too, able to shape the future. And though Fitz is no longer the peerless assassin of his youth, he remains a man to be reckoned with—deadly with blades and poison, and adept in Farseer magic. And their goal is simple: to make sure not a single Servant survives their scourge.
 




Review: I’ve always loved how this series pulls no punches. What an epic way to finish. In true Hobbs fashion, we are taken on an epic ride, one that will leave you emotionally drained. Will I miss the Characters? Yes. Will my life be empty and void without Fitz? Of course, but at least I have the option of starting over and reading again from the beginning.  

Received an advance reader copy in exchange for a fair review.


Wednesday, May 24, 2017

#BookReview | The Cityborn by Edward Willett

Title: The Cityborn
By: Edward Willett
Genre: Scifi
Pages: 352
Release Date: July 4th, 2017
Publisher: Daw Books
Audience: Adult

Summary from Goodreads: Two young individuals must uncover the dark secrets of their stratified city in this suspenseful sci-fi standalone 
The metal City towers at the center of the mountain-ringed Heartland, standing astride the deep chasm of the Canyon like a malevolent giant, ruled with an iron fist by the First Officer and his Provosts in the name of the semi-mythical Captain. Within its corroding walls lies a stratified society, where the Officers dwell in luxury on the Twelfth Tier while the poor struggle to survive on the First and Second, and outcasts scrabble and fight for whatever they can find in the Middens, the City's rubbish heap, filling the Canyon beneath its dripping underbelly. 
Alania, ward of an Officer, lives on Twelfth. Raised among the privileged class, Alania feels as though she is some sort of pampered prisoner, never permitted to explore the many levels of the City. And certainly not allowed to leave the confines of the City for any reason. She has everything a young woman could want except a loving family and personal freedom. 
Danyl, raised by a scavenger, knows no home but the Middens. His day-to-day responsibility is to stay alive. His sole ambition is to escape from this subsistence existence and gain entrance to the City--so near and yet so far out of reach--in hopes of a better life. 
Their two very different worlds collide when Alania, fleeing from an unexpected ambush, plunges from the heights of the City down to the Middens, and into Danyl's life. 
Almost immediately, both of them find themselves pursued by the First Officer's Provosts, for reasons they cannot fathom--but which they must uncover if they are to survive. The secrets they unlock, as they flee the Canyon and crisscross the Heartland from the City's farmlands to the mountains of the north and back again, will determine not only their fate, but the fate of the City...and everyone who lives there.


Review: This book really intrigued me with its cast kind of vibe. It reminded me of Garth Nix's Seventh Tower series that I read as a kid and loved. The story moved along quickly, but kind of got bogged down in the middle. It picked right back up again though, with awesome action scenes and suspense that will leave your mind blown. Four stars for The Cityborn.


Received an advance reader copy in exchange for a fair review.


Tuesday, May 23, 2017

#BookReview | The Bone Queen by Alison Croggon

Title: The Bone Queen
By: Alison Croggon
Genre: Fantasy
Pages: 432
Release Date: February 18th, 2016
Publisher: Walker
Audience: Adult

Summary from Goodreads: Perfect for readers of Tolkien and Garth Nix, The Bone Queen is the highly anticipated prequel to the original Pellinor sequence, and will delight fans of critically acclaimed author Alison Croggon, as well as newcomers to the world of Pellinor. 

Cadvan of Lirigon, one of the most powerful Bards of his time, has been exiled from the School of Lirigon for a grievous crime that unleashed the power of the Bone Queen. Isolated and guilt-ridden, he is burdened by memories of his dealings with the Dark. Meanwhile, across Edil-Amarandh, a number of disturbing events suggest that the Bone Queen may not have been successfully banished, as was previously believed. The Light is under threat, but does Cadvan have the strength to face the Bone Queen again?
 


Review: The Bone Queen is a prequel to Alison Croggon's Pellinor series, one that I have not read yet. Reading this story, I felt bogged down, like I was trudging through waist high mud with every sentence I read. It felt like an epic fantasy, and although I read epics, this one wasn't my style. I liked the story, as much of it as I could understand and the characters were well written. This wasn't my cup of tea, but Croggon has a large fan base who will love this book.


Received an advance reader copy in exchange for a fair review.


Featured Posts