Saturday, June 24, 2017

#BookReview | The Lake by Lotte and Soren Hammer

Title: The Lake
By: Lotte and Soren Hammer
Genre: Thriller/Mystery
Pages: 371
Release Date: April 20th, 2017
Publisher:  Bloomsbury Publishing
Audience: Adult

Summary from Goodreads: Everything comes with a price

The chilling next instalment in the Konrad Simonsen series, perfect for fans of Johan Theorin and Yrsa Sigurðardóttir

The skeleton of a young woman is discovered, tied to a stone, in a lake deep in the Danish countryside.

The woman’s identity is a mystery; no one matching her description has been reported missing... After months of fruitless investigation by the local police force, a media scandal brings the case to nationwide attention and is quickly handed over to Konrad Simonsen and his team from the Copenhagen Police force.

It soon becomes clear that this unknown woman is the key to a sinister world of human trafficking, prostitution and violence.

A world where everything comes with a price and no mistake goes unpunished.
 




Review: This book starts off with a bang. There is torture and murder. The disposal of a body in a lake. A perfect setting for a murder mystery. 

I felt a little bogged down the first portion of the book, but once I really got into the mystery part of the story, I was sucked in and couldn't get out. The dialog was full of witty quips and the main character was very insightful. I couldn't believe this was translated from another language, because the words felt very american to me. Who ever did the translation did an amazing job.

I really enjoyed this read, and I am not one for thriller/mysteries. Check out The Lake this summer.


Received an advance reader copy in exchange for a fair review.


Featured Posts