Tuesday, May 23, 2017

#BookReview | The Bone Queen by Alison Croggon

Title: The Bone Queen
By: Alison Croggon
Genre: Fantasy
Pages: 432
Release Date: February 18th, 2016
Publisher: Walker
Audience: Adult

Summary from Goodreads: Perfect for readers of Tolkien and Garth Nix, The Bone Queen is the highly anticipated prequel to the original Pellinor sequence, and will delight fans of critically acclaimed author Alison Croggon, as well as newcomers to the world of Pellinor. 

Cadvan of Lirigon, one of the most powerful Bards of his time, has been exiled from the School of Lirigon for a grievous crime that unleashed the power of the Bone Queen. Isolated and guilt-ridden, he is burdened by memories of his dealings with the Dark. Meanwhile, across Edil-Amarandh, a number of disturbing events suggest that the Bone Queen may not have been successfully banished, as was previously believed. The Light is under threat, but does Cadvan have the strength to face the Bone Queen again?
 


Review: The Bone Queen is a prequel to Alison Croggon's Pellinor series, one that I have not read yet. Reading this story, I felt bogged down, like I was trudging through waist high mud with every sentence I read. It felt like an epic fantasy, and although I read epics, this one wasn't my style. I liked the story, as much of it as I could understand and the characters were well written. This wasn't my cup of tea, but Croggon has a large fan base who will love this book.


Received an advance reader copy in exchange for a fair review.


Featured Posts