Skip to main content

#BookReview | The Bone Queen by Alison Croggon

Title: The Bone Queen
By: Alison Croggon
Genre: Fantasy
Pages: 432
Release Date: February 18th, 2016
Publisher: Walker
Audience: Adult

Summary from Goodreads: Perfect for readers of Tolkien and Garth Nix, The Bone Queen is the highly anticipated prequel to the original Pellinor sequence, and will delight fans of critically acclaimed author Alison Croggon, as well as newcomers to the world of Pellinor. 

Cadvan of Lirigon, one of the most powerful Bards of his time, has been exiled from the School of Lirigon for a grievous crime that unleashed the power of the Bone Queen. Isolated and guilt-ridden, he is burdened by memories of his dealings with the Dark. Meanwhile, across Edil-Amarandh, a number of disturbing events suggest that the Bone Queen may not have been successfully banished, as was previously believed. The Light is under threat, but does Cadvan have the strength to face the Bone Queen again?
 


Review: The Bone Queen is a prequel to Alison Croggon's Pellinor series, one that I have not read yet. Reading this story, I felt bogged down, like I was trudging through waist high mud with every sentence I read. It felt like an epic fantasy, and although I read epics, this one wasn't my style. I liked the story, as much of it as I could understand and the characters were well written. This wasn't my cup of tea, but Croggon has a large fan base who will love this book.


Received an advance reader copy in exchange for a fair review.


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Fight Continues | Theater of Spies by S.M. Stirling

Title: Theater of Spies By: S.M. Stirling Genre: Historical Thriller Pages: 400 Release Date: May 7th, 2019 Publisher: Ace
Summary from Goodreads: The second novel in an alternate history series where Teddy Roosevelt is president once more right before WWI breaks out, and on his side is the Black Chamber, a secret spy network watching America's back.
After foiling a German plot to devastate America's coastal cities from Boston to Galveston, crack Black Chamber agent Luz O'Malley and budding technical genius Ciara Whelan go to California to recuperate. But their well-deserved rest is cut short by the discovery of a diabolical new weapon that could give the German Imperial Navy command of the North Sea. 

Luz and Ciara must go deep undercover and travel across a world at war, and live under false identities in Berlin itself to ferret out the project's secrets. Close on their trail is the dangerous German agent codenamed Imperial Sword, who is determined to get his revenge, and a …

The Girl With All the Gifts | Movie Review

Title: The Girl with all the Gifts
Genre: Dystopian

Release Date: January 26th, 2017 Rating: 6.7/10 IMDB Cast: Sennia Nanua, Gemma Arterton
Summary from IMDB: A scientist and a teacher living in a dystopian future embark on a journey of survival with a special young girl named Melanie.
IMDB Trailer
Review: If this isn't fantastic or what? I loved the book and I'm always a little leary about watching the movie after I loved the book, but this one was worth the watch. 
I loved the dystopian zombie world. A bacteria has taken over the minds of those who are infected and they crave human flesh, but the children born with this disease arm mostly alive. They can learn and love, just like any normal child. The only difference is, they still crave flesh.
There are so many twists and turns in the story. It kept me on the edge of my seat. It wasn't really scary like a lot of zombie movies so if you are not a big fan of horror I think you would be safe with the semi freaky movie.
5 out of 5…

What I'm Reading This Week | #WeeklyMenu Week #255

Its Monday again. Always Monday. We go through the week and them come back to Monday. They day that I have to myself, or wished I had to myself. Really I share it with everyone. Never time to myself. Never a quiet moment away from people. It makes it hard, since I need my quiet time to rewind and reset for the week. I don't get that. All I get is angry. How am I supposed to feel better if I can't have my quiet time?

On the other side of things, I finally sat down to write. It was a nice day. The sun was shining, there was a cool breeze and an open pick-nick table on my lunch break. Perfect weather for a mid day writing session. Got a lot done on my new manuscript. I'm hoping this one will land me an agent, but we shall see.

Guess what I' reading this week? Ok, you probably already know because of the picture. Exit West. It serves two purposes for me. Its on my shortest books I wanted to read list and also takes care of one of my bingo spots, a book about today's is…