Skip to main content

Writers voice submission - The Last Artican

Supper excited for you all to be joining me on my blog. Please, leave a comment :)
~
Dear super duper coaches,

I would like to offer up my novel The Last Artican, a YA fantasy complete at 94,000 words. It's a stand alone novel with series potential and it will appeal to fans of Garth Nix’s SABRIEL and Mercedes Lacky’s BRIGHTLY BURNING.

The ancient blood of the founding master races flows through Tabor’s veins. Power. Magic. A death sentence.

In the south, the Dominion hunts down anyone with the blood of the ancients and on her nineteenth birthday, they find Tabor. Captured by the murderous Dominion leader, Lord Farenan, Tabor and her pure magic are all he needs to claim true power in the world. He will use her magic to find her people, a people who have not been seen in a century, and enslave them.

Unwilling to be used, Tabor escapes and places her trust in her new caretaker who promises to aid her in finding her people, in finding a way to be free. Tabor quickly finds that her new ally has his own agenda and he uses Tabor’s trusting heart to get what he wants, his sisters freedom.

Betrayed and recaptured, Tabor is taken to the heart of Winter Land and forced to search out her ancestors or suffer the consequences, death. Her people hold the secrets to her safety and the training to harness the greatest power seen in centuries, but Farenan seeks to make Tabor their destruction.

I’ve been a member of the Long Ridge Writers Group since 2005 and have written biographies for several web pages. I have been published in the New Authors Journal and twice in the Voice of Fellowship. I have also self published on Amazon.com a healthy living book called “An easy diet for a crazy life.”

Thank you for your consideration. I hope to hear from you soon.

First 250 words

I had been staring at the crack in the ceiling over my bed for hours now. I watched as the moon light visited my window casting a sullen shadow across the room, and I waited as the white glow was replaced by the early morning twilight. Dawn had finally come.

I hadn’t slept most of the night because of the dream. I could still hear the haunting sound of my mother’s last screams as I laid freezing in a bed of snow. A baby left for dead. The sounds kept me awake more often than not these days and the visions only became worse. I ran my hands through my sweat soaked hair. Make them stop!
My thoughts were interrupted by the bell in the tower. I dreaded that sound. It meant that I would have to live one more day hiding who I was and where I came from. I guess it was better than the nightmares I faced when I slept, but I didn’t know how much better it was.
As the bell chimed again calling to me to get out of bed, I remembered what this day meant. It was my nineteenth birthday. It would mark one year that my magic refused to emerge. One year that I was a misfit between normal and Artican. I was beginning to doubt my origins.
Maybe I wasn’t who I thought I was all along. Maybe this master blood that was supposed to be running through my veins was a myth. 

Comments

  1. Deep fantasy, great start! Good luck in the contest!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm a huge fan of Garth Nix's Sabriel books, and really like the voice in this. Good luck :-)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks. I've read almost all the Garth Nix books, they are some of my all time favorite books.

      Delete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Fight Continues | Theater of Spies by S.M. Stirling

Title: Theater of Spies By: S.M. Stirling Genre: Historical Thriller Pages: 400 Release Date: May 7th, 2019 Publisher: Ace
Summary from Goodreads: The second novel in an alternate history series where Teddy Roosevelt is president once more right before WWI breaks out, and on his side is the Black Chamber, a secret spy network watching America's back.
After foiling a German plot to devastate America's coastal cities from Boston to Galveston, crack Black Chamber agent Luz O'Malley and budding technical genius Ciara Whelan go to California to recuperate. But their well-deserved rest is cut short by the discovery of a diabolical new weapon that could give the German Imperial Navy command of the North Sea. 

Luz and Ciara must go deep undercover and travel across a world at war, and live under false identities in Berlin itself to ferret out the project's secrets. Close on their trail is the dangerous German agent codenamed Imperial Sword, who is determined to get his revenge, and a …

The Girl With All the Gifts | Movie Review

Title: The Girl with all the Gifts
Genre: Dystopian

Release Date: January 26th, 2017 Rating: 6.7/10 IMDB Cast: Sennia Nanua, Gemma Arterton
Summary from IMDB: A scientist and a teacher living in a dystopian future embark on a journey of survival with a special young girl named Melanie.
IMDB Trailer
Review: If this isn't fantastic or what? I loved the book and I'm always a little leary about watching the movie after I loved the book, but this one was worth the watch. 
I loved the dystopian zombie world. A bacteria has taken over the minds of those who are infected and they crave human flesh, but the children born with this disease arm mostly alive. They can learn and love, just like any normal child. The only difference is, they still crave flesh.
There are so many twists and turns in the story. It kept me on the edge of my seat. It wasn't really scary like a lot of zombie movies so if you are not a big fan of horror I think you would be safe with the semi freaky movie.
5 out of 5…

What I'm Reading This Week | #WeeklyMenu Week #255

Its Monday again. Always Monday. We go through the week and them come back to Monday. They day that I have to myself, or wished I had to myself. Really I share it with everyone. Never time to myself. Never a quiet moment away from people. It makes it hard, since I need my quiet time to rewind and reset for the week. I don't get that. All I get is angry. How am I supposed to feel better if I can't have my quiet time?

On the other side of things, I finally sat down to write. It was a nice day. The sun was shining, there was a cool breeze and an open pick-nick table on my lunch break. Perfect weather for a mid day writing session. Got a lot done on my new manuscript. I'm hoping this one will land me an agent, but we shall see.

Guess what I' reading this week? Ok, you probably already know because of the picture. Exit West. It serves two purposes for me. Its on my shortest books I wanted to read list and also takes care of one of my bingo spots, a book about today's is…